Skip to content

Weekend plans…

February 22, 2012

The upcoming weekend is going to be a tough one for all of us.  The reality that Ben has been gone for a year has me in shock.  Where did that time go?  So much has happened in the past year, but it feels like just yesterday that I was waking up beside him.

As hard as February 26th is going to be to see come and go, I know one thing for certain.  Ben would not want us to be sad and mopey.  He would want us to CELEBRATE!  To surround ourselves with loved ones.  To LAUGH, Dance, tell Ben stories.  You all know how to do this.  You’ve been doing it ALL year. You’re pro’s at celebrating the ‘Ben’ in life.

I will be spending the weekend in the Abel Tasman National Park, just an hour and a half outside of Nelson (http://www.newzealand.com/int/article/national-parks-abel-tasman/). The Abel Tasman coastal track is a beautiful walk along the beaches of the Tasman Bay and there are even a few low tide crossings that I have to plan along the trip!  I’ll hike both Saturday and Sunday and stay overnight in a hut on Saturday night.  I will be headed off alone to reflect and be with Ben.  I have no doubt he will be there with me to open my eyes to the beauty of the hike, and to help me remember the incredible three years we had together.

My hope for all of you is that you find your own special way to celebrate Ben this weekend.  Whether its wearing stripes or your BCD shirt, playing celebrity, eating french toast or fish tacos, flossing, sharing some of your favorite memories, spending time outdoors, attempting a 360 on skis, toasting a drink, shooting some hoops, shedding a tear… whatever it may be.  I wish you peace for this weekend.  And JOY, lots of joy.  If nothing else, remember his smile and be happy.

I want to thank you in advance for all of the love and support that will be sent my way this week and weekend.  I can feel it already and it is overwhelming and wonderful.  I am so grateful, always, to have a community holding me up and rooting for me.  And helping me celebrate and remember Ben.  Thank you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    February 22, 2012 9:32 am

    Sending you so much love this week and always. Have an amazing time on your trip this weekend.

  2. Mike Hooley permalink
    February 22, 2012 3:08 pm

    We are golfing in Ben’s honor this weekend. Remembering his sweet swing will be an inspiration and memories of his smile will warm our hearts.

  3. Amy Hooley permalink
    February 25, 2012 11:03 am

    I am heading out for a run in the crisp, invigorating chill of Minnesota winter. And I hope to spend each moment thinking of all my great times with my beautiful son-in-law Ben. I have been reading this morning and was touched by one in particular: “Grief is the agony of an instant, the indulgence of grief the blunder of a life.” Benjamin Disraeli
    I will continue to move forward with the inspiration of Ben’s joyful life!

Leave a Reply

