Skip to content

Ben, the foodie.

May 22, 2012

This post is going to seem like it’s out of left field… And, it kinda is. I was reading my US
Weekly today and I came across an eggo waffle ad (I know, bear with me here). All of a
sudden this flooding memory came back of one of Ben’s favorite breakfasts… Blueberry
eggo waffles with peanut butter and syrup on top. When he first told me about this
delicious treat, I was skeptical. But seriously, TRY IT. It will change your life :)

We always had two jars of peanut butter in the house however – smooth for Ben and
chunky for me. As agreeable as he was, this was one thing he would NOT budge on.
Anyways, the peanut butter waffle reminder just got me remembering and chuckling about
all of Ben’s quirky eating habits… And I just had to share them.

First, his complete intolerance of spicy anything never ceased to amuse us and our friends. He LOVED wheat thins and ranch dip… Or really, anything with ranch dip. And his chips ahoy cookies had to be kept in the fridge. Also, he swore up and down that he hated mushrooms, but when I would sneak them into meals he would gobble it right up :)

He ALWAYS left one sip left in any beverage he was drinking… Milk, coffee, water, juice…
ONE sip. Just finish the dang drink! I was so grateful and lucky for the fact that after every
shift I worked, Ben would have dinner ready and waiting for me when I got home. Problem
was, most of the time he couldn’t wait for me to get home. He would try to wait, and then
usually about ten minutes before I got home he would cave and eat without me. For such
a skinny guy… His appetite was astounding. I can’t tell you how many times he called me
from work and admitted that it was only 10:30 but he had already eaten his entire lunch!

A couple of summers ago Ben decided he was lactose intolerant after he ate what he
thought was a bad string cheese. Of course, we had just gotten back from a camping trip
where he had cooled beer in a river and then drank it (giardia, anyone?). But nope Ben
cut dairy out cold turkey… And he was miserable. After about two weeks of almond
cheese, soy milk and coconut milk ice cream I finally convinced him that he wasn’t lactose
intolerant. The relief on his face was epic.

Maybe the funniest quirk of all is something I only just learned about after Ben died. His
co-worker, Tina, clued me in to this one. Ben’s favorite part about Fridays (besides going
out to lunch with Jaron and the guys) was donut and bagel mornings at work. Well
apparently Ben had a routine with his bagel. He liked it toasted, but didn’t like when the
cream cheese melted… So, he would put the bagel in the freezer for 30 seconds to cool it
down so the cream cheese wouldn’t melt when he spread it on. Ingenious! Why wait for the bagel to cool if you can speed up the process by putting it in the freezer? This guy was efficient.

Now it may seem like I’m having a laugh at the expense of my beautiful and talented
husband… but the truth is, these habits were SO endearing. He always kept me smiling.
Secretly, I loved the fact that I got to finish the last sip of wine in every glass that I EVER
poured for him. I adored that he enjoyed cooking, sharing meals, and that he also didn’t mind doing the dishes. I was amazed at the amounts of food he could eat without gaining a pound. And I am grateful for the fact that every time I see eggo waffles I will smile and think of Ben… And peanut butter and syrup.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 7:53 am

    Katie, of all the posts you have written, this is the one that leaves me in a puddle. I feel like he is still here with us all the time, but dang I wish he was still eating peanut butter waffles. So proud of you, as always!

  2. Whitney permalink
    May 22, 2012 9:51 am

    Thanks Kate … That is a MUCH needed reminder of why the thought of Ben brings so much lightness and joy! He was unique :)

  3. Rachel permalink
    May 22, 2012 12:16 pm

    I remember his short lived battle with lactose intolerance! I’m sure I helped fuel the thought that he was intolerant because of my long list of food intolerances. He always felt so bad for me when we’d go out to eat as a group and one day he came and told me he had suddenly developed a problem with dairy too! He told me he didn’t know what he was going to do now that he couldn’t eat his string cheese snack every day.. And I remember him saying that all of a sudden one day he was fine again haha. I remember him sweating bullets too if there was the slightest bit of spiciness in his food. And let’s not forget his cute obsession with the Cookie Lady! I miss that huge grin on his face when he came back to work with her cookies in hand. :)

  4. staci permalink
    May 23, 2012 6:28 pm

    I didn’t know Ben, but I loved reading these sweet & interesting tidbits about him! I’m going to have to try the peanut butter waffle combo. Keep up the writing Kate. Love reading it. Hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

